Back to top

Deputy President Ramaphosa announces the appointment of the advisory panel on Eskom matters

Cape Town - Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa today, Wednesday 18 March 2015, announced in the National Assembly, the names of  the advisory panel has appointed to advise him on matters regarding the turn-around of Eskom.

Members of the Advisory Panel include Professor Anton Eberhard, Ms Dolly Mokgatle, Mr Bobby Godsell, Ms Sy Gourah, Mr Smunda Mokoena and Mr Derrick Elbrecht.

The Advisory Panel has been working with the technical teams working in the government’s War Room.

Deputy President Ramaphosa was responding to questions in the National Assembly which focussed among others, on steps that government is undertaking to address the electricity challenges facing the country.

In this context, Deputy President Ramaphosa informed the National Assembly that various interventions are being implemented to address the electricity supply constraints including the prioritisation of maintenance of all power stations. 

To assist the Deputy President lead the turn-around process, he has appointed this Advisory Panel to provide an independent view on the effectiveness of the measures proposed to turn around Eskom. 
The Deputy President believes that there is no short-cut to the challenges facing Eskom, hence the need to develop short, medium and long-term solutions that are independently verifiable by people with expert knowledge of the energy sector. 

The Advisory panel appointed by the Deputy President on Eskom is different from the Ministerial Council on Energy whose members will be announced soon by the Ministry of Energy.

For more information contact Ronnie Mamoepa on 082 990 4853.

Issued by: The Presidency